Skip to content

Ah, Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2011

It’s hard not to have an opinion on the varied intents and meanings attributed to this day.

While it was sometimes excruciating as an unpopular kid, as an adult I’ve gotten to the point of having mildly positive feelings about it. It’s easy to be cavalier and shrug it off, being in a solid relationship, not having had experiences that cause me to dread the holiday in a very long time. I appreciate, however, that it’s not something that everyone can dismiss as easily as I do, that it is not purely innocent and carefree, that it can quite easily provide the context and excuse for stress, performance pressure, doubt, rejection, damaged self-esteem and other assorted kinds of suffering.

I recommend checking out Galina Krasskova’s article Happy Aphrodite’s Day? (A Few Curious Ramblings) over on Pantheon, the Pagan blog at Patheos.com.

(It looks like there are numerous others on the theme today, but I haven’t had the time to read them all yet.)

I like her suggestion that as Pagans, we should consider stepping back from the predefined meanings for the day provided for us and consciously decide what and Who we want to make the focus.

I personally intend to make an offering to Aenghus macOg and Caer Ibormeith. I don’t work on a solitary level with the Irish gods otherwise, but I feel that these two were very involved in the establishment of the relationship between myself and my husband, and that They have chosen to maintain our connection and support it, to act as patrons of the marriage itself and our household in general.

May we all become aware of and feel the blessing of affection in our lives, from any and all sources, towards any and all recipients.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 4:35 AM

    For me Valentines is an unlucky day, as are all days after the Ides by Roman reckoning, with the extra of being part of the week dedicated to the family dead. Not the most lively of times :p

    • February 15, 2011 10:30 AM

      I noticed it was the day after the Ides, although by one reckoning it was the Ides? . . . (I have no expertise whatsoever to judge between competing versions of Roman holiday calendars!)

      Is Valentine’s Day celebrated much in Portugal? I haven’t ever thought about it before, but my instinct would be that it might be noted in passing but not the big deal it is over in the States.

      • February 15, 2011 11:15 AM

        Well, Roman calendar would have followed the lunar cycles at least partly, so the exact date of the calends, nones and ides would have varied. For practical reasons, I’ve using the perpetual calendar from Nova Roma, which has fixed the Ides on the 13th or 15th, but it has crossed my mind taking some of the old practices and using the moon as a reference. Will have to check the pros and cons.

        As for Valentines, yeah, it’s pretty much celebrated. The shops are full of hearts, teddy bears and all sorts of romantic presents and a lot of couples go out for dinner or prepare a special something at home.

Leave a Reply

