Skip to content

Transitions

June 10, 2010

As early summer has arrived – on the calendar, if not in the local climate – it’s been several weeks chock full of various rites of passage for people around me.

I’ve been caught up in the flurry, but am still peripheral to most of it. (The beginning of the first strawberry harvest at our new house has been surprisingly nice, though.)

Being someone who has not yet chosen whether or not to have children (who would provide plenty of novelty, I’m sure), I find myself at a phase where there aren’t any other natural transitions for me in the foreseeable future. I have a stable job I’m not inclined to leave, live in a city I love, am in a dedicated married relationship, have a house we both really like, am not feeling a drive to go to graduate school. . . life could coast on indefinitely in a way very similar to now for decades, really.

The idea seems a little stultifying, but creating false transitions for the sake of some sense of dynamic movement in my life doesn’t sound like the right response.

I’m working on various projects – losing weight/getting fit, exploring spirituality, planning a trip to Europe – but these are all long-familiar activities.

I’ve never been very good at coming up with self-directed goals or manifesting personal discipline, but these things are not going to come from outside of me at this point and it seems that life would be better with their inclusion.

This bears some serious thought.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

