Skip to content

Side note on Shinto (frivolous)

January 13, 2008

I really can’t help sharing this, but it utterly fails to fit the tone of my last post, so it gets its own.

At the beginning of a ceremony they beat on a taiko drum to get the attention of the kami.

Let me see if I can do this in text. . . the pattern goes something like this:

BOOM

BOOM

BOOM BOOM BOOM

BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM

BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM
BOOMBOOMBOOMBOOM

The first time they did this I had no idea of what to expect, so
1.) on the first beat I half jumped out of my skin

and

2.) my brain pipes up, “OMG, it’s *JUST* like the beginning of NIN’s Downward Spiral album! ‘I am the voice inside your head/and I control you. . .’.”

*facepalm*

I will be so relieved if I wasn’t the only one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2008 6:23 AM

    heee!
    Never heard the album, but w00t for weird-assed coincidences ;)

  2. January 14, 2008 3:28 PM

    [LAUGHS] I hadn’t thought of it like that — having taken a taiko class a while back, that took mental priority. But I can totally see it in retrospect.

  3. January 14, 2008 11:07 PM

    Interesting–my reaction is usually just *DRUMS*.
    [Percussionist…yes, I know, we’re incorrigible.]

  4. January 14, 2008 11:46 PM

    boom. (gratuitious icon post.)

Leave a Reply

